Department of Forestry

Department of Forestry:

The Diploma in Forestry is a professional three-year degree program accredited by the CTEVT. Forestry students are trained to grow, manage, and protect healthy forest ecosystems. Our forestry classes are designed to give students hands-on field experiences using the latest technology when learning about land management principles and practices. The Department is noted for excellent education, strong professional orientation, active student organizations and outstanding advising. It follows the course content of Diploma in forestry, run by the CTEVT with addition of 3 months practical training. Besides employment opportunities, the graduates of this course will have opportunity to continue B.Sc. Forestry degree course at different universities.

Major subject areas

The major subject areas include silviculture, wildlife and protected area management, forest harvesting and utilization, forest management, non-timber forest products etc.

Study tours

Study tours, exposure visits and excursions are integral components of the course. These tours and visits are organized in coordination with Department of forest and soil conservation, department of national park and wildlife reserves, division forest offices and park management officers.

Academic session

The session starts in August-September each year.

Annual enrollment

The institute enrolls 40 students in each batch.


Students of SLC passed / SEE with securing at least Grade C in any two subjects of English, Math & Science and D+ for remaining one subject are eligible to appear in the entrance exam administered by the CTEVT.


Application forms for the entrance exam can be obtained from Mahuregadhi polytechnic institute, Nunthala, Khotang. Students who are successful in the entrance exam are eligible for admission in this program.

Tuition fee

Currently, the total fee for the 3-year program is NPR 1,11, 500 + 5000 (deposit). The fees are liable to changes anytime.

For more details, Contact:

Mr. Sirjan Sharma

Forestry Department Coordinator

Mahuregadhi Polytechnic Institute

Nunthala, Khotang